“To Build Knowledge and Skills for Success Today and Tomorrow”

January 24, 2020 at 7:24 AM

Sturgis Brown High School Hall of Fame Class of 2020

The Sturgis Brown Athletic Department is proud to announce the members of the 2020 Hall of Fame Class.  They are Brooke Ireland, Kahlie Peterson, Eric Hauan, and Les Sigman.  These four former Scooper Athletes epitomize the level of excellence that is reached when one sets their heart and mind to becoming great. 


Brooke and Kahlie are exemplary examples of a three-sport athlete who were involved in multiple at SBHS.  They both competed in basketball, volleyball and track during their years at SBHS.  Brooke also ran cross country her senior year for the Scoopers while Kahlie also competed on the club softball team.  Both garnered numerous honors during their years as a Scoopers and both continued their athletic careers in college. Kahlie at South Dakota School of Mines and Brooke at the University of South Dakota.


Both Eric and Les were key components to the success of the Sturgis wrestling teams during their years here at Sturgis Brown High School.  Eric won three state championships and was runner-up his other year in high school, while Les was a one-time state champ and one-time runner-up during his two years on the varsity.  Both would go on to wrestle in college, Les at UNO where he was a four-time National Champion and Eric to UNI where he was a three time All-American.


Scooper State wishes to congratulate all four inductees as they are very deserving and are great additions to the existing group of HOF members.  The Class of 2020 will be formally inducted into the Hall on Friday, January 24, 2020 during halftime of the boy's basketball game.