Athletic Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame was formed as a way of paying tribute to the many individuals who have been a part of the rich tradition of the Sturgis Brown High School athletic programs. A permanent Hall of Fame display is located in the lobby of the west gym at Sturgis Brown High School. The display, funded by private donations, includes a 9"x12" plaque with photo and brief biography of each inductee.


Meade School District interim Activities Director Mike Paris, who serves as chairman of the selection committee, said the nominations of those not selected will be kept on file and active for the next five years.


The nomination form and criteria are available at the activities office at SBHS or by clicking these links:

Hall of Fame nomination form
Athlete Criteria
Community Contributor Criteria
Coach Criteria 


To view photos from past ceremonies, click on this link.
(Site password is Scoopers.) 


The inaugural class (Class of 2011) was inducted Sept. 9, 2011, at Woodle Field. Athletes selected for induction were Dale Hardy (1943), Carroll Hardy (1951), Don McVay (1969), Alen Sigman (posthumously) (1970), Dee Herrmann Gilbert (1981), Brett Burditt (1984), Chris Gadsden (1984), Doug Miller (posthumously) (1988) and Megan Mahoney (2001). Coaches/administrators in the induction class were Larry Burditt, Bob Peterson (posthumously) and Buell Woodle (posthumously). Contributors who were inducted included Ernie Miller and Keith Smit.


The second class (Class of 2012) was inducted  Feb. 18, 2012, at the west gym, of SBHS. Athletes inducted were Jim Daane (1978), Dean Johnson (1949), Holly Albrecht-Kopplin (1984), Scott Lensegrav (1990), Dr. Bruce Lushbough (1951), Frosty Paris (2004), Tyler Steinle (2000), Steve Thomas (1972), Brent Voorhees (1991) and Dan Wilson (1983). Coach/administrator in the induction class was Cal Corey. Contributors who were inducted included Terry and Dr. Tom Hermann, Dr. George Jenter, Lloyd Keszler and Ruth Smit.


The third class (Class of 2013) was inducted  Feb. 1, 2013, at the west gym of  SBHS.  Athletes inducted were Tom Berry (1976), Jessica Engel (2007), Ken Linstrom (1946) and Cliff Lushbough (1952). Coach/administrator inducted was Elwood Dietrich.


The fourth class (Class of 2014) was inducted Jan. 31, 2014, at the west gym of SBHS. Athletes inducted were Greg Keszler (1976), Jay Long (1995), Bill Shetler (2003), Boyce Voorhees (1994) and Miaken Zeigler (2000). Coaches/administrators inducted were Larry Hines, Tim Drone and Barry Furze.


The fifth class (Class of 2015) was inducted Jan. 30, 2015, at the west gym of SBHS. Athletes inducted were Homer Hastlings (1962), Jerry McDermott (1973) and Meghan (Little) Farmer (2000).


The sixth class (Class of 2016) was inducted Friday, Jan. 29, 2016, at the west gym of SBHS. Athletes inducted were Brittony Hubbard (2000), Dan Kessler (1967)  and Brent Pickar (1997).


The seventh class (Class of 2017) was inducted Feb. 9, 2017, at the west gym of SBHS. Athletes inducted were Carsey (Barden) Clement (2010), Josh Keszler (2010), Seth Lange (2010), and Clint Wilson (2011). Contributor inducted was Scott Sabers.


The eighth class (Class of 2018) was inducted Jan. 26, 2018, at the west gym of SBHS. Athletes include Nikki (Steffes) Hansen (2005), Madeleine Takahashi (2011), Clay Kopplin (2012), and Arthur "Bucky" O'Connor (1958). Coaches/Administrators include Dale Brooks (Coach). 


The ninth class (Class of 2019) was inducted Jan. 24, 2019, at the west gym of SBHS. Contributors include Tim Potts and Jerrid Goebel.


The tenth class (Class of 2020) was inducted Jan. 24, 2020, at the west gym of SBHS. Athletes include Brooke Ireland, Kahlie Peterson, Eric Hauan, and Les Sigman.


The eleventh class (Class of 2022) will be inducted Feb. 11, 2022, at the west gym of SBHS. Athletes include Shane Delbridge and Chet Delbridge. Contributor includes Don Dubbe. Contributor/Coach includes Mike Paris. To view photos, click here.